Things to see and do - Stainz
Leaving for Austria
Nearby tourist sites
Nearby hotelsSee all hotel tips Stainz
Castle : Michelin's recommendations
This former monastery of Augustinian canons was secularized in the 18C. It was renamed a castle, purchased by Archduke Johann in 1840 and is still owned by his descendants, the counts of Meran. Both courtyards with arcaded walks, the church and Ethnography Museum are worth seeing. The church, dating from 1229, then rebuilt in 1686, is set in the former abbey buildings. It is dedicated to St Catherine and has been used as the parish church since the secularization of 1785. Only the two west towers of the original early-Gothic church survive. It has a gleaming white nave and side chapels. Only the vault has been decorated with painted medallions within stuccowork. The high-altar elevation is articulated by columns supporting the pediment and entablature. The two-storey museum is a section of the Landesmuseum Joanneum, presenting objects, documents and photographs about Styria's farming and craftwork traditions. Note, in particular, a collection of tools from the mid-19C, as well as examples of popular equipment such as manual threshing machines and "Schmeisswachl" or mechanical threshing machines. There is also a full range of ceramic ware and country furniture. A press for producing pumpkin seed oil recalls a tradition of southern Styria. Finally, there are two examples of panelled rooms or "Stuben" and a small side room or "Seitenstübel" found in local old houses.
- Address : Schlossplatz A - 8510 Stainz8510Stainz
- Phone : (03463)2772