Église St-Charles-Borromée : Michelin's recommendations
This lovely church was built by the Jesuits from 1615 to 1621. Initially named after St Ignatius, the founder of the Company, it became the Church of St Charles Borromeus. Its Baroque façade generally follows three remarkably designed Classical styles. The central medallion was made from a design by Rubens. The Baroque belltower with Renaissance themes is the work of Peter Huyssens. In 1718, a fire destroyed the ceilings painted by Peter-Paul Rubens and Anthony Van Dyck in the lower sides. Nonetheless, the interior of the church is still admirable. The building, with its barrel vault, has high, well-lit galleries over the nave. The choir and chapel of the Virgin Mary have preserved their marble facing. 18C woodwork stands under the arcades - between each confessional, kept by four angels, medaillions tell the story of the lives of St Ignatius (to the south) and St François Xavier (to the north). Several retables, including The Assumption, were ordered with Rubens in 1620 to decorate the church. They are on show in the Fine Art Museum in Vienna, Austria. The museum leads to the gallery, funerary crypt, sacristry and five rooms containing a collection of ancient lace.
- Address : Hendrik-Conscienceplein B - 2000 Antwerpen2000Antwerpen
- Phone : 032313751
- Prices : free of charge
Read also our reports on: Église St-Charles-Borromée