MICHELIN Travel Discover the world
Home > > > > > > > Citadel Dinant

Leaving for Belgium


Nearby Restaurants

See all restaurants Dinant

Citadel Interesting

Citadel Citadel Citadel
Logo LeGuideVert

Citadel Interesting : Michelin's recommendations

The first castle, from 1051, was rebuilt by the Bishop of Liège in 1523, then destroyed by the French in 1703. Its present appearance dates from the Dutch occupation (1818-1821). The citadel was turned into a museum, with reconstructions, dioramas, miscellaneous items and a small weapons collection recalling the main events of its history and that of the town. The walls, 100m above the Meuse, offer a view of the town, the collegiate church and Meuse Valley.

Useful Information

Opening hours :

  • Apr-Sep: 10am-6pm; Oct-Mar: daily except Fri 10am-5pm (cable car only weekends except school hols); Jan: weekends 10am-4.30pm - closed 1 Jan and 25 Dec

Top of page