Ursuline Monastery : Michelin's recommendations
Founded in 1639 by Madame de la Peltrie and Marie Guyart (Mère Marie-de-l'Incarnation), the monastery is the oldest educational institution for young women in North America and is still in operation today. The chapel (1902) is particularly remarkable for its interior decoration. Most of the ornaments were crafted between 1726 and 1736 under the supervision of Pierre-Noël Levasseur. Of particular interest are the wood sculptures of St. Augustine, St. Ursula and St. Joseph, the nuns' choir surmounted by a wooden vault, and the collection of paintings. The Musée des Ursulines (Ursuline Museum) occupies the former site of the house belonging to Madame de la Peltrie, the order's benefactress, in the 17C. Reflecting the occupations of the Ursuline nuns, the collection features documents, furnishings, paintings, sculptures and numerous embroideriesa of rare beauty. The museum also contains altar frontals and ecclesiastic vestments of the 17C and 18C.
- Address : 18 rue Donnacona CDN - Québec G1R 4T1G1R 4T1Québec
- Phone : (418) 692-2523
Read also our reports on: Ursuline Monastery