Fort Saint-Jean Museum
Fort Saint-Jean Museum : Michelin's recommendations
Housed in the former Protestant Chapel (1850) located on the Campus Saint-Jean, this museum traces more than 325 years (1666-1995) of military history in this area. The collection of weapons, uniforms and other military artefacts is bolstered by an exhibit on the development of the fort. A first wooden structure, built by the French in 1666 as a defence against the Iroquois, was replaced by a second in 1748 to protect New France against British forces. In 1759, after the capture of Fort Lennox, Fort Saint-Jean was burned by its French defenders to avoid capture by the British. The structure was rebuilt by Guy Carleton in 1775 and captured by the Americans the same year, when the fort's small garrison finally surrendered after a long, 45-day siege. Having sustained severe fire damage, the fort was reconstructed after the Patriots' Rebellion of 1837-38. After visiting the museum, visitors can tour the remains of the old ramparts on the grounds of the campus.
- Address : 15. Rue Jacques-Cartier Nord CDN - Saint-Jean-Sur-Richelieu QC J3B 8R8J3B8R8Saint-Jean-Sur-Richelieu
- Phone : 4503586500
- Website : http://www.cmrsj52.ca/musee.htm
Opening hours :
- Open late May-Labour Day Wed-Sun 10:00am-5pm