Royal Ontario Museum : Michelin's recommendations
This enormous museum, commonly referred to as the ROM, is housed in an H-shaped, five-floor building at Avenue Road and Bloor Street. Maintaining over 20 departments in art, archaeology and the natural sciences, the museum, known especially for its East Asian holdings, possesses a remarkable collection of six-million-plus artifacts and artworks from around the world. In the early 1900s Toronto banker Sir Byron E. Walker campaigned to start a public museum. United in effort was archaeologist Charles Trick Currelly, whose world travels provided the first treasures for a collection. In 1912 the Ontario Legislature passed the ROM Act, and in 1914 the museum first opened as part of the University of Toronto. Independent by 1968, the ROM became a separate body under the provincial government. Officially reopened in 1982 after an ambitious four-year, $55 million expansion, the ROM remains one of the country's leading museums, attracting visitors and scholars worldwide.
- Address : 100 Queens Park CDN - Toronto M5S 2C6M5S 2C6Toronto
- Phone : (416) 586-5549
- Website : http://www.rom.on.ca
Read also our reports on: Royal Ontario Museum