MICHELIN Travel Discover the world
Home > > > > > Tourist attractions

Leaving for Canada

Advertisement

Modify the search

Tourist attractions

Mots-clés
Green Guide Stars

Green Guide Stars

Distance

Distance

Catégories

Star rating

Tourist attractions Trois-Rivières

Enlarge map

Sort by :

  • distance
  • rating
  • 1 Old Prison Interesting

    Museums and art

    200 r. Laviollette CDN - Trois-Rivières G9A 6L5

    Linked to the Quebec Museum of Popular Culture by covered walkway. Designed by François Baillairgé and erected between 1816 and 1822, the imposing stone structure features some of the best surviving examples of Palladianism in Quebec. Note its massiv..

  • 2 Boucher de Niverville Manor Interesting

    Architecture, castles and historic districts

    168 r. Bonaventure CDN - Trois-Rivières G9A 2B1

    This whitewashed stone manor house with red shutters was constructed about 1729 by François Châtelain. His son-in-law, Claude-Joseph Boucher, Sieur de Niverville, gave the manor its name when he inherited it in 1761. Restored in 1971, it now houses t..

  • 3 Cathedral Interesting

    Religious buildings

    362 r. Bonaventure CDN - Trois-Rivières G9A 5J9

    The Gothic Revival cathedral with its copper-clad steeple was designed by Victor Bourgeau. The building was consecrated in 1858, but financial difficulties delayed the erection of the steeple until 1905. The interior is dominated by Guido Nincheri's ..

  • 4 Laviolette Bridge Interesting

    Architecture, castles and historic districts

    CDN - Trois-Rivières G9A

    Completed in 1967, this elegantly curved bridge is over 3km/2mi long. It is the only bridge over the St. Lawrence River between Montreal and Quebec City.

  • 5 Tonnancour Manor Interesting

    Architecture, castles and historic districts

    864 Rue des Ursulines CDN - Trois-Rivières G9A 5J9

    This three-storey edifice was completed in 1725 by René Godefroy de Tonnancour, seigneur of Pointe-du-Lac, and rebuilt by Judge Pierre-Louis Deschenaux after a fire in 1795. The structure served as an officers' barracks, a presbytery and a school. It..

  • 6 Le Platon

    Archaeological and historical sites

    CDN - Trois-Rivières G9A

    In 1634 the Sieur de Laviolette built his fort on this plateau 35m/115ft above the river. The area's name is derived from the word peloton, meaning "ball of wool." A bust of Laviolette and a plaque were placed here in 1934 to celebrate the ..

  • 7 The Flame

    Architecture, castles and historic districts

    Place Pierre Boucher CDN - Trois-Rivières G9A

    The striking obelisk in the centre of the Pierre Boucher Square was erected to celebrate Trois-Rivières' 325th anniversary. Pierre Boucher, Sieur de Grosbois (1622-1717), was the governor of Trois-Rivières in 1654 when the settlement was attacked by ..

  • 8 St. James Church

    Religious buildings

    787 Rue des Ursulines CDN - Trois-Rivières G9A 5B7

    The Récollets (reformed Franciscan monks) began construction here on a chapel and monastery in 1693, completing work in 1742. Added in 1754, the adjoining wing is now part of the structure. After the Conquest, the building was used as a court of law ..

  • 9 Boréalis: The Pulp and Paper Industry Exhibition Centre

    Industrial tourism and theme park

    800 Parc Portuaire CDN - Trois-Rivières

    The centre, located in a historic water-processing plant at the confluence of the St. Maurice and St. Lawrence rivers, provides a fascinating glimpse of the industry that dominates Trois-Rivières' economy. The exhibit traces the history of paper from..

  • 10 Rue des Forges

    Architecture, castles and historic districts

    CDN - Trois-Rivières G9A

    Shops and restaurants line this busy street, which combines the flavour of the old port with the energy of a bustling university town.

  • 11 Trois-Rivières Seminary

    Religious buildings

    858 Rue Laviolette CDN - Trois-Rivières

    Founded in 1860, the St. Joseph Seminary was rebuilt after a fire in 1929. Embellished by columns and a statue of St. Joseph, the main entrance of the long, limestone structure is surmounted by a squat copper dome. Untouched by the fire, the Romanesq..

Top of page