Old Prison : Michelin's recommendations
Linked to the Quebec Museum of Popular Culture by covered walkway. Designed by François Baillairgé and erected between 1816 and 1822, the imposing stone structure features some of the best surviving examples of Palladianism in Quebec. Note its massive size, three-storey framework, severe portal and wide pediment dominating the central façade, all characteristic of a style that marked the British presence throughout the Colonial Empire. The nine chimney stacks on the roof are evidence of a concern for the prisoners' comfort. The building ceased to function as a prison in 1986. Today it features an interpretation centre; 20 of its cells present different aspects of prison life, such as discipline, hygiene, visitation, etc.
- Address : 200 Rue Laviollette CDN - Trois-Rivières QC G9A 6L5G9A6L5Trois-Rivières
- Phone : 8193720406
- Website : http://www.enprison.com
Opening hours :
- Open Jun-Labour Day daily 9:30am-6:30pm. Rest of the year Tue-Sun 0am-5pm. Closed Jan 1 & Dec 25