MICHELIN Travel Discover the world
Home > > > > > > Mining Village of Bourlamaque Val-d'Or

Leaving for Canada


Mining Village of Bourlamaque :

Nearby tourist site

Mining Village of Bourlamaque

Logo LeGuideVert

Mining Village of Bourlamaque : Michelin's recommendations

Merged with Val-d'Or in 1965, this mining village was named after François-Charles de Bourlamaque, an aide of French General Montcalm. The village, which was declared a historic district in 1979, was administered exclusively by the Lamaque Mine, one of the main employers on the Cadillac Fault. The mine shaft, hospital and residence of the mine executives are intact, and the solid log cabins that housed the mine employees are still inhabited. The Cité de l'Or provides guided tours of Village Minier de Bourlamaque; in addition, visitors can see the surface buildings of the Lamaque Mine and descend some 91m/300ft into an authentic mine tunnel.

Useful Information

  • Address : 90 av. Perreault CDN - Val-d'Or J9P 2G3J9P 2G3Val-d'Or
  • Phone : (819) 825-1274
  • E-mail : courrier@citedelor.com
  • Website :
  • Prices : 38 $ (-12 years old 18.25 $)

Opening hours :

  • [Underground and on surface end Jun-early Sep: 9am-5pm - exhibition Jun-Oct: daily except Mon-Tue 9am-5pm; rest of year: Fri-Sun 9am-5pm]

Nearby tourist site

Top of page