Nearby tourist sites
Cathedral : Michelin's recommendations
Kankainen Chapel (near the chancel, north side) houses a black marble funeral monument dedicated to the Finnish wife of King Erik XIV. In St George's Chapel rest bishops Hemming (who died in 1366) and Gezelius (father and son), pioneers of Finnish education in the 17C. The altarpiece (1834) by F Westin (painter for the Swedish court) shows the Transfiguration of Christ, and the frescoes (1850-1854) are by W Ekman, father of the Finnish painter. The gallery procures a fine view of the interior. Religious museum in the south hall.
- Address : Tuomiokirkonkatu 1 FIN - 20100 Turku20100Turku
- Phone : 022617100
Opening hours :