MICHELIN Travel Discover the world
Home > > > > > > > Jumièges Abbey
Advertisement

Jumièges Abbey :

Nearby tourist sites

Nearby Restaurants

See all restaurants Jumièges

Jumièges Abbey Highly Recommended Highly Recommended Highly Recommended

Jumièges Abbey Abbaye de Jumièges - 1 Abbaye de Jumièges - 2 Abbaye de Jumièges - 3
Logo LeGuideVert

Jumièges Abbey Highly Recommended Highly Recommended Highly Recommended : Michelin's recommendations

Bibendum
During the 10C, the Duke Guillaume Longue Epée rebuilt the abbey of Jumièges from its ruins. It was founded by St-Philibert in the 7C. The Vikings turned this monastery into "a den of ferocious animals and birds of prey". The new Benedictine abbey soon became known as "Jumièges the Purse" due to its great charity work. It devoted itself to study and its knowledge increased its fame. The abbey-church was consecrated in 1067 by the archbishop of Rouen after England was conquered, by the archbishop of Rouen, in the presence of Guillaume, the new conqueror. The last monks dispersed after the Revolution. At a public auction In 1793, it was awarded to a wood merchant from Canteleu. He intended to use Jumièges as a quarry, therefore he mined the church tower-lantern and blew it up. The abbey of Jumièges has kept its chapter house, its sacristy with relics, its cloister, its storeroom, its gardens and its abode.

Useful Information

  • Address : D65 F - 76480 Jumièges76480Jumièges
  • Phone : 02 35 37 24 02
  • E-mail : abbaye-de-jumieges@cg76.fr
  • Website :
  • Prices : 5 € (-18 years old free of charge)

Opening hours :

  • mid Apr-mid Sep: 9.30am-6.30pm; rest of year: 9.30am-1pm, 2.30pm-5.30pm - closed 1 Jan, 1 May, 1 and 11 Nov, 25 Dec

Top of page