Things to see and do - Chantilly
Chantilly, its Horses, Castles and Walks :
Nearby tourist sites
Campanile Hotel Chantilly from55 €Book
Le Château de la Tour from115 €Book
Hostellerie de Pavillon Saint-Hubert from80 €Book
Things to do nearby
- -24 €
- 24 €
- 62 €
Chantilly, its Horses, Castles and Walks
Chantilly, its Horses, Castles and WalksBy car, 9 km, 1 day
Chantilly was originally the home of the ''Bottler of France'', the king's foremost sommelier. Later it was remodelled by the Grand Condé into a magical place of luxurious finery, filling the Sun King with envy. Home to some of the greatest figures in France, it witnessed the flowering of the 17C. In the 19C it was turned into a high-level equestrian venue a stone's throw from Paris.Customise this route and add it to My travel book
These stalls dating from the time of the Duke of Aumale are still occupied by horses and ponies. The museum sheds light on the evolution of the horse's place in civilisation by means of old artefacts and documents, as well as interactive terminals and short films; hippology and horse-related occupations (blacksmithing, horse-racing betting) are also featured. The highlight of the tour is the dressage demonstration that ends the visit.
Standing in the middle of a lake, this fine building bequeathed to the Institut de France by the Duc d'Aumale, consists of the petit château, highlighting the history of the Condé family, with its apartments decorated with fine wood panelling and works of art; and the grand château, built in the Renaissance style for the Duc d'Aumale, and which houses his eclectic yet impressive art collection; the santuario includes works by Raphael and Gilippino Lippi, as well as miniatures by Jean Fouquet.
Laid out by Le Nôtre for the Great Condé, it dazzled Louis XIV. The Sun King, prone to envy as he was, wished to have the same water feature for himself at Versailles! Even if very little remains of Le Nôtre's hand, as you stroll through, you will see the superb landscaped garden (1820) dotted with "monuments", the Chapel le St Jean, a chapel built by Anne de Montmorency in 1538, a fan-shaped waterfall, the Hamlet (1774), which foreshadowed that at Trianon, the Grand Canal and the Manche.
More than just a Chateau, this is an old mill renovated in the troubadour style for the last Count who used it, in 1825, as a hunting lodge. It owes its name to a legendary castle built by of Blanche of Navarre in 1350. Hundred year-old beech trees embellish the site
On the banks and causeways separating the areas of water, agreeable walk are possible around these pools that the Chaalis monks have adapted into fish breeding grounds.