Abbaye de Sénanque : Michelin's recommendations
The church was erected between 1150 and the start of the 13C. The purity of its lines, emphasised by the lack of ornamentation, creates an air of meditation and contemplation. A large dome on decorative squinches shelters the altar cross. A semi-circular apse lit by three windows (symbolising the Trinity) and flanked by 4 absidioles, puts the finishing touches to the edifice. The cloisters, with vaulted arches (end 12C) give access to various parts of the monastery buildings, each one with its own well-defined function: the chapter house, covered with 6 ogive arches, where the monks would meet to read, discuss the scriptures and make important decisions; the warming room, with one of the two original chimneys, heating the room where transcription of the scriptures took place; the refectory, destroyed in the 16C, then rebuilt and recently restored to its original state; the lay brothers' room, rebuilt in the 18C, which housed monks still in training.