Wilmersdorf : Michelin's recommendations
Wilmersdorf, like Schmargendorf, was a village established shortly after the acquisition of the plateaus of the Teltow and the Barnim by the successors of Albert the Bear in 1231. While many villages on the Teltow became the property of a noble family, Wilmersdorf was administered by the Mühlendorf, an organisation that supplied the court. The peasants in this village are mentioned for the first time in 1591. At the end of the Thirty Years War (1618-1648), only five were left. At the beginning of the 19th C, Wilmersdorf was, with Schöneberg, Berliners' favourite place for a daytrip. They would come on foot or by barouche pulled by four horses and contaiing six to ten people to pic-nic in the open air. There were tables and chairs in the inns. People would come to look at the animals and perhaps take a horse ride. At the end of the C, Wilmersdorf was known for its attractions - Tanzpalast, situated on the banks of the Wilmersdorfsee (now gone) attracted 2,000 visitors a day. Young society would meet there to attend the Wednesday balls and the Schmargendorf. The village was taken over by the expanding city of Berlin and the first allocation of land was made in 1850. Most of the peasants did not become millionaires, except for Georg Christian Blisse. With no children, he left three million Reichsmarkt to the commune to build an orphans' home. Wilmersdorf is also home to the Viktoria-Luise Schule, the first high-level school for young girls.
- Address : Schaperstraße D - 10719 Berlin10719Berlin