Cathedral : Michelin's recommendations
The identical height of the naves are characteristic of this hall church type construction, built in the late 15C in replacement of the Romanesque church which had burned down. What is known as the Golden Door is all that remains of the early church. Its relatively plain external appearance gives no indication of the immense treasure concealed within. Three identical naves are supported by slim pillars, illuminated by the soft light pouring through the high pointed arched windows. A rood screen is crowned by a wooden Crucifixion Group (1220). The lovely tulip pulpit, made in 1505, is a masterpiece of religious art. At its foot stand statues of the prophet Daniel and a young miner. Nearby is the more frequently used Miners' Pulpit. The pleasantly proportioned organs have three keyboards, 45 stops and 2674 pipes and are embellished with delicate angel figures. The sound of these instruments continues to thrill all listening. The chancel was converted into the burial place of the Saxony dynasty. It was reworked in the Mannerist style by Giovanni Maria Nesseni between 1586 and 1591. The tomb of Elector Moritz of Saxony was the work of the sculptor Anonius van Zerroen from Antwerp. It is adorned with allegorical figures.
- Address : Untermarkt D - 09599 Freiberg09599Freiberg
- Phone : 03731300966
- E-mail : firstname.lastname@example.org
- Website : http://www.freiberger-dom.de
- Prices : 3 €