MacLellan Castle :
Nearby tourist sites
MacLellan Castle : Michelin's recommendations
In 1582, the town provost, Sir Thomas MacLellan, used the stone from a nearby ruined monastery to build his town house. A spacious staircase with straight flights of stairs leads from the cellars and ground floor kitchens to the Great Hall fireplace, a massive structure with an aperture known as the "Laird's Lug". The castle lost its roof in 1752.
- Address : Castle Street GB - Kirkcudbright DG6 4JADG64JAKirkcudbright
- Phone : 01557331856