Melrose Abbey : Michelin's recommendations
The abbey was founded by Cistercian monks in 1136 on the irrigable, fertile plains alongside the River Tweed. After a period of prosperity and rebuilding by Robert the Bruce in the 14C, it met with the fate of most Scottish abbeys: secularisation and the decline of the community, followed by the deterioration of the buildings. The ruins were restored on the initiative of Walter Scott from 1822 to 1826, making the site a popular place to visit in the mid-19C. The ruins of the abbey church, a profusion of coloured stonework and decorative sculpture - unusually ornate for a Cistercian monastery - and the purity of the Gothic style form a charming picture. The layout of the interior is probably similar to that of the old 12C church, of which only a low wall and the west doorway are now standing. The foundations of the conventual buildings give an idea of the sheer size of the original buildings. The old Commendator's House is now a museum containing fragments of sculptures excavated with explanations of the various methods of construction.
- Address : Abbey Street GB - Melrose TD6 9LGTD6 9LGMelrose
- Prices : free of charge