MICHELIN Travel Discover the world
Home > > > > > > Castle Scotland

Leaving for Great Britain



Logo LeGuideVert

Castle : Michelin's recommendations

This fortified, L-shaped house, slightly back from the road, was built as a hunting lodge in 1628. It was burned down by Farquharson of Inverey, an ancestor of the present owners, rebuilt and reinforced by the addition of a star-shaped curtain wall and crenellations providing a lookout post for the Hanoverian troops garrisoned there after the 1745 Jacobite rising. The attractive portcullis and pit prison are traditional in style.

Useful Information

Opening hours :

  • Jul-Aug: Wed and weekends 11am-4pm; Apr-Jun and Sep-Oct: weekends 11am-4pm

Top of page