Nearby hotelsSee all hotel tips Scotland
Castle : Michelin's recommendations
This fortified, L-shaped house, slightly back from the road, was built as a hunting lodge in 1628. It was burned down by Farquharson of Inverey, an ancestor of the present owners, rebuilt and reinforced by the addition of a star-shaped curtain wall and crenellations providing a lookout post for the Hanoverian troops garrisoned there after the 1745 Jacobite rising. The attractive portcullis and pit prison are traditional in style.
- Phone : 01339741219
- Website : http://www.invercauld.org
Opening hours :
- reopening summer 2007.