Clifford's Tower :
Nearby tourist sites
Nearby hotelsSee all hotel tips York
Clifford's Tower : Michelin's recommendations
The tower was built between 1250 and 1275 by Henry III to replace the wooden fort of William the Conqueror that was burned down in 1190 by the people who besieged the Jews who had hidden there. It is named after Roger of Clifford who, after his capture at the Battle of Boroughbridge, was hanged and chained at the top of this tower on 16 March 1322.
- Address : The Castle GB - York YO1YO1York
- Website : http://www.english-heritage.org.uk