Lysicrates' Monument : Michelin's recommendations
Lysikrates' monument, the sole survivor of the votive monuments of Tripodon Street, was erected in 334 B.C. It was subsequently enclosed in the French Capuchin monastery in 1669, where many Christian travellers, such as Byron and Chateaubriand, stayed under the Turkish domination. The monument was used by the fathers as a library, and was then known under the name of Demosthenes' lantern because according to tradition, but erroneously, the great orator worked on his speeches here. Having escaped the ravages of the war of independence which destroyed the monastery, Lysikrates' monument was restored from 1845 by the French School of Athens. It takes the form of a rotunda 10.2 m high with six columns the remarkable capitals of which are linked by plates of white marble. Above runs the dedicatory inscription and a sculpted frieze representing Dionysos changing pirates into dolphins, presumed to be the subject of the dramatic competition won by Lysikrates. The roof made of a single plate of marble finishes in acanthus leaves which used to support the now missing tripod. Excavations have revealed bases of other choregic monuments. Not far from here, in a shady square, St Catherine's Church (Agía Ekateríni), dating from the 13C, has undergone several modifications.
- Address : R. Tripodon GR - 10558 Athína10558Athína
- Prices : free of charge
Read also our reports on: Lysicrates' Monument