Chánia's Old Town : Michelin's recommendations
The old town follows the curve of the harbour, which is used only by caïques and coasting vessels. It was built from the 13C onwards by the Venetians, who enclosed it within a wall, a few fragments of which are still standing. The Kastéli district was the site of ancient Kydonia, a rival of Knossós. During the Venetian occupation the old district around the citadel contained the Latin cathedral, the Venetian Governor's palace the administrative buildings (Customs, Archives), the houses of the leading citizens and the Arsenal. On the quayside the former Janissaries' mosque (late 17C) now houses the Tourist Office. In the Merchants' District, walk along the quay (Akti Koundouriotou), which is very busy and thronged with tavernas offering fish and seafood dishes (sea urchins). The beautiful old house at the north end houses the Naval Museum (Naftikó Moussío) which has exhibits of historic documents and detailed model ships. A well-documented permanent exhibition reconstructs the famous 1941 Battle of Crete (German invasion). The charming little streets behind the museum contain old Venetian houses with balconies and stone doorways sometimes ornamented with sculpted coats of arms and mottoes.
- Address : Kanevaro GR - 731 32 Chánia731 32Chánia
- Phone : 2821092943
- Prices : free of charge
Read also our reports on: Chánia's Old Town