Agía Triáda : Michelin's recommendations
The Minoan (2000-1400 BC) ruins here, as at Phaistos, occupy a magnificent site (its ancient name is unknown) overlooking Messarás Plain and Bay. To the left is a small palace; to the right and below lies a village. The local cemetery produced the famous painted sarcophagus now in the Herakleion Museum. The palace may have been the residence of a dignitary or a relative of the princes of Phaistos. Pass the grand staircase (left) that goes up to the Altar Court and follow the paved ramp leading down to the sea, past the north front of the palace; the redans are typical of Minoan architecture. This range of buildings, which was at least two storeys high (traces of stairs), comprised a central block containing the reception rooms, storerooms and the royal megaron with its alabaster facing still in place. The west wing was built around small courts or light wells as living accommodations; some of the rooms have retained some of their original fittings: slate floors, benches, alabaster plaques, and channels for draining off water. Further on stands St George's Church, a small 14C building decorated with delicate Byzantine sculptures. There was a Mycenaean Village (1375-1100 BC) below the palace.
- Phone : 2892 091564
- Prices : 3 €