Corgialeneion History and Folk Art Museum : Michelin's recommendations
The road from Sámi crosses Agrapídies Pass, which affords a magnificent view of the site of Argostóli (pop. 6 815), stretching out below along a promontory facing the Lixoúri Peninsula. The main access to Argostóli is over a 650m-long bridge spanning the Koútavos Lagoon that was built between 1810 and 1814. Rebuilt following the earthquake in 1953, the capital of the island unfortunately lost its Greco-Venetian atmosphere, which can nevertheless be recaptured through a visit to the Korgialeniosa Museum with its remarkable collection of old costumes, documents showing how Argostóli once looked, reconstructions of the interiors of aristocrats' houses and craftsmen's workshoops. Near the tip of the promontory, level with a restaurant, the seawater flows into fissures, disappears underground and reappears on the other side of the island in the Melissáni cave, through the principle of communicating vessels. They are known as katavóthres (swallow-holes). The hydraulic power thus created was used to turn mills, an example of which can still be seen complete with a paddle wheel. View of the sea and the Lixoúri Peninsula.
- Address : 12 Ilia Zervou GR - 28100 Argostóli28100Argostóli
- Phone : 2671028835
- Prices : 3 €
Read also our reports on: Corgialeneion History and Folk Art Museum