Ieró (Sanctuary) : Michelin's recommendations
After the paved open space called the Agorá Kombetialistón (remains of a monumental altar) are the ruins of the Sacred Way, the Propylaia (monumental entrance), the House and the Stoa of the Naxiots, the temples of Apollo and of Artemis, and traces of the Stoa of Antigonos Gonatás. Three temples of Apollon (Témenos Apólona) have been uncovered. The temple of Delian Apollo, a Doric building, was the largest of the three; its construction was begun by the Deliots in the 5C BC but was not completed until the 3C BC because of Athenian hostility to it. The Athenian temple (c 420 BC) was also Doric and the naós (central hall) contained seven statues. The Porinos temple, the smallest but oldest of the three (6C BC), was built of hard limestone tufa, called poros; it contained an Archaic statue of Apollo and the treasure of the Delian League. Near the temple are the truncated columns of the façade of the temple of Artemis (Témenos Artémidos), a Hellenistic building in the Ionic style (2C BC). Behind the temple of Artemis lie pieces of the colossal Statue of Apollo which was hauled this far by the Venetians in 1422: there are the torso, partially covered with curly hair, and the pelvis, which contains holes to carry a belt; one of the hands is in the local museum, and one of the feet in the British Museum.