Bonamargy Friary :
Nearby tourist sites
Bonamargy Friary : Michelin's recommendations
The ruins of the Franciscan friary, built near a river in around 1500, are now in the middle of the Ballycastle golf course. Still visible are the gatehouse and church which was lit by an impressive bay window on the East side. The McDonnell vaulted ceiling was added on the south side of the altar in 1621 but was probably subsequently modified. The east aisle has two storeys, linked by a flight of steps set into the thickness of the wall.
- Address : Cushendall Road GB - BallycastleBallycastle