Killruddery : Michelin's recommendations
Killruddery Gardens were designed by a Frenchman in 1682. Two parallel canals, 168 m long ,are flanked by an avenue of lime trees leading to the park laid out in the 18C. The Angles are a geometric pattern of intersected pathways, lined with tall hedges. The dense patches of trees are dissected by wide pathways. A hedge of laurels surrounds the scene with greenery, and an 18 m diameter pond with a fountain is ringed by a double hedge of beeches. The four 19C statues represent the seasons. Rows of boxwood mark the perimeters of the two 19C ornamental gardens. The octagonal detached house was originally a dairy. Built around 1650, it was extensively restructured around 1820 by Richard and William Morrison. The Statue gallery was added in 1852. In the stable courtyard, a hydraulic clock and chiming mechanism were built by members of the family between 1906 and 1909. In 1618, the estate was given to Sir William Brabazon who was named Earl of Meath in 1627. His ancestors arrived in England with William the Conqueror and his descendants still live in Killruddery.
- Address : R 761 IRL - BrayBray
- Phone : (01) 286 3405
- E-mail : firstname.lastname@example.org
- Website : http://www.killruddery.com
- Prices : 6.50 €