Carrickfergus Castle : Michelin's recommendations
The oldest part of the castle, built by Jean de Courcy 1180-1200, is the interior courtyard, surrounded by high walls. The 19C cannon platforms on the southern end of the castle provide a fine view over the building and its surroundings. The keep used to house the lord of the castle's dwellings. The north-eastern corner tower is a fine example of defensive architecture from the 13C with an impressive series of loopholes. The interior courtyard was probably built by Hugh de Lacy from 1228-1242, to cover the entire promontory and make the castle less vulnerable to attack from the north. The guardroom towers, which were entirely circular when built at the same time as the external courtyard, were cut off at the back some time after the Elizabethan period. The room above the passage contains the rolling mechanism for the portcullis and a loophole. The chapel on the first floor of the eastern tower includes a window with detailed decoration.
- Address : Castle Street GB - Carrickfergus BT38BT38Carrickfergus
- Phone : 02893351273
- Website : http://www.ehsni.gov.uk
- Prices : free of charge