Abbey : Michelin's recommendations
This Augutinian institution,standing by the river, was built in the 12C over the site of an earlier 6C or 7C foundation. It was probably built by Turloch O'Connor, king of Connaught, the last king of Ireland, who took his vows here. After the Dissolution in 1542, the buildings gradually fell into ruins. Amongst the remains can be found the choir, a Romanesque portal, traces of the night staircase inside the church and part of the cloister.
- Address : Abbey St. IRL - CongCong
- Phone : 0949546068
- Prices : free of charge - please contact us for further information
Opening hours :