Castle : Michelin's recommendations
The first castle was built in the early 13C, either by Raymond le Gros, who led the first Anglo-Normans into the city in 1169 or, by the Prendergast family. The Prendergasts kept the castle until the mid 15C when it was won in battle by the MacMurroughs. In 1581, it was returned to the Crown. It was rebuilt in 1586 and rented (for 3 days) to the poet, Edmund Spenser. Today it houses an interesting County Museum.
- Address : Castle Hill IRL - EnniscorthyEnniscorthy
- Phone : 0539234699
- Website : http://www.enniscorthycastle.ie
- Prices : please contact us for further information
Opening hours :
- 9.30am-5pm, weekends 11am-5pm