Duiske Abbey :
Nearby tourist sites
Duiske Abbey : Michelin's recommendations
The most outstanding element of this restored abbey is its high-pitched roof made of unseasoned oak and elm timbers whose joints are fixed by wooden pegs. The effigy of the Knight of Duiske dates from approximately 1300. It is one of the most impressive Irish statues, however, the identity of the knight remains a mystery. This abbey was founded in the 13C by William le Marshall and used to cover most of the present town.
- Address : Abbey IRL - GraiguenamanaghGraiguenamanagh
- Phone : 0599724238
Opening hours :
- visiting: 8am-6pm - Abbey reception centre: daily, except w.-ends, 9am-1pm.