Nearby hotelsSee all hotel tips Kinsale
Harbour : Michelin's recommendations
The 2.4km walk along the east bank of the Brandon Estuary up to Summercove is very pleasant. The only street in the village plunges towards a tiny port where English ships used to unload guns and provisions for their army during the siege of Kinsale (1601-02). From the graveyard of the Anglican church of St Catherine there is a view of the bay. The star-shaped construction of Charles Fort was begun in 1670. It was used as a fort until 1922.