MICHELIN Travel Discover the world
Home > > > > > Tourist attractions

Leaving for Ireland


Modify the search

Tourist attractions

Green Guide Stars

Green Guide Stars




Star rating

Tourist attractions Monaghan

Enlarge map

Sort by :

  • distance
  • rating
  • 1 Dún A' Rí Forest Park Interesting

    Nature and gardens

    R 179 IRL - Carrickmacross

    This forest park, which was an integral part of the Cabra estate until 1959, is in a valley near the Cabra River. A nature trail and four sign-posted walks take visitors past a deer enclosure, a waterfall near Cromwell bridge, a votive well, Cabra Co..

  • 2 Lace Gallery

    Museums and art

    Market Pl. IRL - Carrickmacross

    Examples can be seen of «mixed» lace work, made of pieces of cambric pattern sewn onto a machine-made net. It is then embellished by stitching with traditional or modern motifs. Nearby stands the Catholic church built in 1866 by J. J. McCarthy, with ..

  • 3 St Macartan's Cathedral (Catholic)

    Religious buildings

    Dublin Rd. IRL - Monaghan

    This cathedral of the diocese of Clogher was built between 1859 and 1892 on a hill south-east of the city. In grey limestone, the building's decorated style is reminiscent of French Gothic churches. Outside, a spire 76m high soars above the splendid ..

  • 4 Monaghan County Museum

    Museums and art

    1-2 Hill St. IRL - Monaghan

    This modern museum contains the 14C Cross of Clogher, together with local crafts (especially lace), historical and prehistoric objects, and an interesting art gallery.

  • 5 Town Centre

    Architecture, castles and historic districts

    Church Sq. IRL - Monaghan

    Designed by Samuel Hayes, an amateur architect, the old covered market (1792) is an elegant building in grey limestone with round-headed arches and finely-carved panels. East of the church square, two buildings catch the visitor's eye: the Courthouse..

  • 6 St Louis Convent

    Museums and art

    Broad Rd. IRL - Monaghan

    The history of the religious community from its foundation in France in 1842 until it settled in this convent, is told in the St Louis Heritage Centre. A crannóg was built on Spark Lake in the monastery grounds.

Top of page