Nearby tourist sites
Tholsel : Michelin's recommendations
The city toll-house, surmounted by a tower and weather vane, was built in 1749 and rebuilt in 1808. It now houses the local council, where records dating back to the 17C can be consulted, together with the mace of Carles II (1699) and the charter of James II (1688). Opposite is a statue, the Croppy Boy . This was the local term for the insurgents of the 1798 rebellion and alluded to their short hair. The statue commemorates the uprising.
- Address : Wexford IRL - New RossNew-Ross
Opening hours :
- visiting: daily, except w.-ends, 9am-1pm and 2pm-5pm.