Nearby hotelsSee all hotel tips Roscommon
Monastery : Michelin's recommendations
The ruined Dominican friary was founded in 1253 by Felim O'Conor. On the north wall of the chancel is a niche holding a late 13C statue of Felim with his foot on a dog. Beneath this, a plaque (probably 15C) depicts eight soldiers, probably foreign mercenaries, armed with swords though one of them holds a battle-axe. Above them in the spandrels are angels.
- Address : N 63 IRL - RoscommonRoscommon