MICHELIN Travel Discover the world
Home > > > > > > Abbey Sligo

Leaving for Ireland

Advertisement

Nearby Restaurants

See all restaurants Sligo

Abbey Interesting

Abbey Abbey Abbey
Logo LeGuideVert

Abbey Interesting : Michelin's recommendations

Bibendum
The ruins, on the south bank of the Garavogue, occupy the site of a Dominican friary founded by Maurice Fitzgerald in 1252, and accidentally destroyed by fire in 1414. The nave has a finely-carved altar-tomb (north wall), which belonged to the O'Creans (1506). It is separated from the 13C chancel by a partially restored 15C rood screen. North of the church stand the sacristy and 13C chapter house.

Useful Information

Opening hours :

  • [30 Mar-8 Oct: 10am-6pm; rest of year: telephone for timetable]

Top of page