Bantry House : Michelin's recommendations
This house was built in 1740 and bought ten years later by the White family who settled on Whiddy Island at the end of the 17C. In gratitude for his services during the attempted French intervention of 1796, Richard White (1767-1851) was made a peer. His son, Viscount Berehaven (1800-1868), extended the house and laid out Italianate terraced gardens (109 steps) on the south side of house. The north front facing the bay was added in 1820 and the house was further extended in 1840. Most of the furniture was bought by Viscount Berehaven, who travelled widely in Europe. Four coloured panels from Pompeii have been added to the tiling in the hall. Next to the vast fireplace, an impressive Russian travelling household shrine contains 15C and 16C icons brought over in the 19C. The Rose and Gobelin drawing rooms are furnished with Savonnerie carpets from the late 18C, Gobelin and Aubusson tapestries. The spectacular dining room has royal blue walls and the long library, with fireplaces at either end, contains a number of rare and ancient books. The panelling on the main staircase is decorated with Spanish leather from the 17C. The old kitchen with its oven can be found next to the craft shop and is now a coffee shop. The stables contain an exhibition detailing the historic events surrounding the «French Armada Expedition», the composition of the fleet and traces the sequence of events.
- Address : N 71 IRL - BantryBantry
- Phone : 02750047
- E-mail : firstname.lastname@example.org
- Website : http://www.bantryhouse.com
- Prices : 10 €