MICHELIN Travel Discover the world
Home > > > > > Old Mellifont Abbey Ireland

Leaving for Ireland

Advertisement

Nearby Restaurants

See all restaurants Ireland

Old Mellifont Abbey Interesting

Old Mellifont Abbey Old Mellifont Abbey Old Mellifont Abbey
Logo LeGuideVert

Old Mellifont Abbey Interesting : Michelin's recommendations

Bibendum
Mellifont, or «honey fountain», was Ireland's first Cistercian house, founded on the banks of the River Mattock in 1142 by Saint Malachie, together with 4 Irish and 9 French monks. The modern abbey (1938) is in Collon, 5 km north. What remains of the original abbey includes the guard room, the vaulted chapel house (14C) and four sides of the two-level eight-sided wash basin where the monks used to wash their hands before going to the refectory, located just in front.

Useful Information

Opening hours :

  • [30 May-28 Aug: 10am-6pm]

Top of page