MICHELIN Travel Discover the world
Home > > > > > Old Mellifont Ireland

Leaving for Ireland

Advertisement

Nearby Restaurants

  • The Kitchen
    Cotation :
    Type de cuisine : other world kitchens

  • The D
    Cotation :
    Type de cuisine : Traditional

  • Conyngham Arms
    Cotation :
    Type de cuisine : Traditional

See all restaurants Ireland

Old Mellifont Interesting

Old Mellifont Old Mellifont Old Mellifont
Logo LeGuideVert

Old Mellifont Interesting : Michelin's recommendations

Bibendum
Mellifont, or «honey fountain», was Ireland's first Cistercian house, founded on the banks of the River Mattock in 1142 by Saint Malachie, together with 4 Irish and 9 French monks. The modern abbey (1938) is in Collon, 5 km north. What remains of the original abbey includes the guard room, the vaulted chapel house (14C) and four sides of the two-level eight-sided wash basin where the monks used to wash their hands before going to the refectory, located just in front.

Useful Information

Opening hours :

  • [30 May-28 Aug: 10am-6pm]

Top of page