Things to see and do - Venice
Around the Ghetto (Cannaregio) :
Nearby tourist sites
Nearby hotelsSee all hotel tips Venice
Things to do nearby
- -43 €
- -51 €
- -139 €
Around the Ghetto (Cannaregio)
Around the Ghetto (Cannaregio)Pedestrian, 4 km, 1 day
The first Jewish quarter in the history of the West, the Ghetto of Venice - originally its proper name before becoming a common name synonymous with mourning - is a piece of hidden Cannaregio. Although its atmosphere is quite similar to that of the Sacca della Misericordia, it differs in its history and, of course, religion.Customise this route and add it to My travel book
This ghetto was the first Jewish neighbourhood of the Western world. Settled in Venice since the 10C, the Jewish population restricted to Cannaregio had to raise the height of their buildings to accommodate their growing numbers. Today the Campo del Ghetto Nuovo is peaceful, but the Museo Ebraico and the occasional synagogue bear witness to the tragedy of the Jewish people.
Located in the German Synagogue (Scola Tedesca), this museum traces the history of Venice's Jewish community and contains precious objects of worship, whether ornamental or for handling the Scrolls, and vestments.
Vaguely reminiscent of an amphitheatre, the campo is surrounded by unusually high buildings for Venice, due to the fact that Jews were not allowed to build outside their district. A tranquil, serene atmosphere reigns in the campo lined by shops with Hebrew signage displaying religious objects, glass knick-knacks, post cards and books.
Decorated with simple obelisks, this bridge was opened in 1580 on the Cannaregio canal, in front of the Labia palace, and it must taken by all those who, on their way from the station, are walking to the Strada Nuova and the Rialto bridge.
Built out of Istrian stone, the palace was built in the l8C for a rich family of Spanish merchants who gave it its name. It is today the headquarters of the RAI of Venezia and is closed to the general public.
Richard Wagner lived and died in this Renaissance palace, built on the Grand Canal by architect Mauro Codussi in the early 16C. Today it is home to the municipal casino.
This peaceful square is adorned with 13C statues gazing down from the façades with enigmatic looks on their faces. They are said to represent the Mastelli brothers, merchants from Morea. Their palace, with a camel relief on its façade, gives onto the Rio della Madonna dell'Orto canal.
An intimate "campo", a harmonious facade made of bricks and decorated with statues: this church has a miraculous statue of the Virgin found in a garden, and is known as the church of Tintoretto: the painter lived nearby and is buried here, also some of his paintings are here, including The Adoration of the golden calf, the most remarkable. Also notice a Saint John the Baptist, masterpiece of Cima da Conegliano.
Visitors should enter this church devoted to Saint Louis of Anjou (Alvise is the Venetian version of Louis) on account of its fine 15C tempera paintings attributed to Lazzaro Bastiani (active between 1449 and 1512). The right wall of the axial chapel has a Calvary by Tiepolo (1749) who also painted the Flagellation and Crown of Thorns.