Church of Santi Giovanni e Paolo : Michelin's recommendations
Immense, built with red bricks by the Dominicans between 1240 and 1430, this church is the worthy counterpart of its Franciscan competitor of the Friars Minor on the opposite bank of the Grand Canal. The sober facade remained sober, as the planned polychrome marble decoration was never finished. A portal made of marble decorated with a leaf and rope motif is the work of Bartolomeo Bon. The interior is spacious and bright. It was created to be a Pantheon for the doges of the Venetian Republic, and has a number of mausoleums, including that of the Mocenigo family, on the inside of the façade. You will also find many monuments and memorials: of the Bandiera brothers executed by a firing squad in 1844 and who share space with the doge Nicollo Marcello, who died almost four centuries earlier... Items not to be missed are the Polyptych by Bartolomeo Vivarini that represents a particularly severe Saint Augustine, a statue of the doge Sebastiano Venier, a victor of the Battle of Lepanto over the Turks, a few remarkable works of art by Veronese, the majestic monument to doge Andrea Vendramin executed by Tullio Lombardo (1493), that of the doge Leonardo Loredan, by Girolamo Campagna. Also notice a magnificent stained glass window in the right arm of the transept, executed by a master glass artist from Murano according to sketches by Bartolomeo Vivarini, Cima da Conegliano and Girolamo Mocetto. Last but not least, the Polyptych of Saint Vincent Ferrier is a masterpiece by Giovanni Bellini.
Read also our reports on: Church of Santi Giovanni e Paolo