Nationaal Museum Paleis Het Loo : Michelin's recommendations
This the former Het Loo Palace and its gardens were open to the public in 1984, after having been the focus of a major restoration project. A 650 ha Park surrounds the museum complex. Built-in 1685 by Jacob Roman, this palace was occupied by William III, his wife Mary Stewart II their court, their guests and their hunting personnel. Huguenot Daniel Marot was responsible for designing the garden and decorating the inside. Het Loo became the royal palace in 1689 when William the third was proclaimed King of England. This bridge palace is surprisingly sober from the outside, remaining true to Dutch Baroque style. The east wing is home to historical documents, paintings and objects recalling the family of Orange. The west wing contains the Museum of the chancellery of the Dutch and foreign orders The special be apartments special B. R. decorated with furniture, paintings, tapestries and sumptuous chandeliers. The new dining-room is a magnificent example of the talent of interior decorator Marot, with its white columns and blisters decorated with golden strips, and its ceiling in relief. Note also the stuccoed ceiling inlaid with mirrors in the library, the chandeliers and paintings in the ensuing Gallery, whose fourposter bed (around 1685) and the mirrors of the bedroom of Mary II The Queen's private room contains a very beautiful cabinet (1690) of lacquerware Delft porcelain and china. The furniture in William III's bedroom is also remarkable, made of walnut and ebony, inlaid with ivory, brass, pearl and precious stones. For beautiful gardens surrounds the palace.
- Address : Koninklijk Park 1 NL - 7313 A Apeldoorn7313 AApeldoorn
- Phone : 0555772400
- E-mail : email@example.com
- Website : http://www.paleishetloo.nl
- Prices : 12.50 € (-17 years old 4 €)