Things to see and do - Enkhuizen
A Tour of the Polders :
Nearby tourist sites
Best Western Hotel Spaander from60 €Book
Hotel Oostereiland from64 €Book
Things to do nearby
- 36 €
- 56 €
- 68 €
A Tour of the Polders
A Tour of the PoldersBy car, 183 km, 1 day
From its creation in the 14C, a polder is gained territory from the sea, a lake or swampland. It is hedged in by dykes, and its level of water is regulated by pumps that throw back water into the sea or rivers. The polder's criss crossing canals link them up: this is the charm of the Netherlands! Don't miss the 30km north dyke that holds out the sea waves. Also don't forget the Emmeloord water tower (edified in 1957), which offers a view on the Frisian coast, Urk and the power station of east Flevoland.Customise this route and add it to My travel book
This attraction consists of an indoor museum (the Binnenmuseum) and an outdoor museum (the Buitenmuseum). The Binnenmuseum, whose main focus is the maritime activities of the region (fishing, navigation, commerce), occupies 12 buildings, including 17 C houses and warehouses that once belonged to the West India Company. The Buitenmuseum is a museum village devoted to daily life in the former fishing ports on the Zuiderzee (completion of the closing dyke). The 12 buildings of the Binnenmuseum (the indoor museum) are distributed around three interior courtyards. There you will find an exhibit devoted to whaling (Walvisvaart), another on old boats (Schepenhal), mainly the wooden sailboats that used to sail on the Zuiderzee, a storage area for spices (the Peperzolder) that evokes the atmosphere of an 18 C warehouse of the West India Company and other exhibits on fishing in the North Sea and the Zuiderzee, the struggle against the water and river and sea transportation. As for the Buitenmuseum (the outdoor museum), it contains more than 130 houses, workshops and shops relocated here from about 30 different places to recreate the picturesque neighborhoods of this village-museum.
The statue of the engineer Lely, designer from 1891 of the project to close off the Zuiderzee, crowns the side of Den Oever (entrance to the dyke). On the sea side, a breakwater protects a cycle track and a road. Below the dyke, on the IJsselmeer side, the fishermen spread their nets to catch eels. The Stevinsluizen (from the name of the engineer Stevin) forms the first group of locks (boat passage).
This elegant construction dates from 1613. Made from brick decorated with sandstone, it protected the port entrance. Its central part forms a bridge over the Geeuw and is flanked by two turrets which overlook the thin roofs. It is inset with arches.
Built in 1957, this water tower supplies potable water to all the polder and has a carillon with 48 bells. From the top, the view stretches all the way to the Friesian coast, Urk and the Flevoland-Is electric plant.