Lazienski Palace : Michelin's recommendations
It was along the so-called King's Promenade, at the heart of the Lazienki Park, that, at the initiative of King Stanislas II Augustus Poniatowski (great patron of the arts), this palace which was to serve him as summer residence was built at the end of the 18th C. It was the Italian architect Domenico Merlini that he entrusted with its realisation. The palace was built on the site of a former spa pavilion, on the waters of a long lake. It contains one terrace (partially destroyed by the Nazis), and two small pavilions accessible through two colonnaded galleries standing astride the water. A balustrade decorated with antique statues illustrates the building's southern façade. The interior decoration is also well worth the detour: the Bacchus room (and its Delft tiles), the Solomon room, the bathroom (with its bas-reliefs), the gallery of paintings that belonged to the king, as well as the office looking onto the water area or the king's bedroom with its canopy bed are all essential halts for any lover of history. Period weapons and personal belongings of the royal family add their interest to the interior decoration of these rooms. Partially destroyed by the Nazis during the Second World War, the castle was completely restored to its appearance of 1775-1795. Boat rides on the lake are possible in the summer.
- Address : ul. Agrykoli 1 PL - 00-460 Warszawa00-460Warszawa
- Prices : 20 pln