Plac Zamkowy : Michelin's recommendations
It was in the 19th C. that this cobblestoned square, created in the 14th C. along with the castle, acquired its current appearance, after destruction of the rampart wall. It is hinted at from afar thanks to King Sigismund's column, among the oldest public monuments in Poland, 22m high, placed on a pedestal with different levels. This column was erected in 1644 by Ladislas IV in homage to his father, King Sigismond III Vasa, who transferred the capital from Cracow to Warsaw in 1596. At the top of the column, a bronze statue represents the sovereign in armour and coronation robes, leaning on a cross and brandishing a sword. Despite the destruction of this column during the Second World War, the statue was conserved and replaced on a new pedestal after the war. On the East side, the royal castle and its baroque façade remind us of the square's origins. Further down, the Palace under metal, called this way because of its roof with four slopes of metal, was erected in the 18th C. and incorporated into the royal castle by King Stanislas II Augustus Poniatowski. Facing the castle, a row of rainbow coloured town houses add a baroque touch to the picture. A little further on, a gothic bridge, reminder of the old fortifications, dating from the 14th C., straddles the old rampart ditches. Finally, more to the South, a statue of the shoemaker Jan Kilinski, a major figure in the Polish insurrection against Russian occupation in 1794, comes as a reminder of one of the great pages in the town's history. Outings in a horse-drawn carriage or little train are organised starting from the square.
- Address : Pl. Zamkowy PL - 00-277 Warszawa00-277Warszawa
- Phone : 22 635 18 81