Amalienborg : Michelin's recommendations
In the centre of the square, the equestrian statue of Frederik V by Saly (1768), pays homage to the man who created this Royal district. The palace buildings were initially intended for high dignitaries and often named after the kings who lived there - Christian IX in 1755, Frederik VIII in 1760, Christian VIII in 1760 and Christian VII. Today, they are occupied by the royal family. The buildings are flanked by sunken wings with symmetrical sandstone façades with high central windows on a balustrade of pillars. Between the palaces, the square leads to two major roads - the one running north-south is crossed by Amalia Avenue that leads down to the Little Mermaid, while the east-west rout goes from the port and nearby Amelia Garden to the Marble Church. Building on the church began in 1749 but was interrupted through lack of funds and was only completed in 1874 thanks to the patronage of a banker. But the marble became simple stone. Nonetheless, the high and vast cupola is one of the landmarks of the city. Halfway between the square and the Kastellet, on the elegant Bredgade street, the former Frederik Hospital has been turned into the Museum of Decorative Arts that houses many objects showing the development of Danish craft including a Limoges enamelled reliquary from the 13C, a Tournai tapestry from the 15C and the largest collection of posters by Toulouse-Lautrec in the world.