Things to see and do - Fåborg
The Fionie, the garden of Denmark :
Nearby tourist sites
Lodge am Meer from89 €Book
Gl. Brydegaard Hotel from400 DKKBook
Hotel Færgegaarden Faaborg from795 DKKBook
The Fionie, the garden of Denmark
The Fionie, the garden of DenmarkBy car, 101 km, 1 day
With a surface area of 3500km2, the Fionie is the second of the Danish islands situated between the Jutland (to which it is linked by a bridge) in the west and the Sjaelland in the east. The island's most important town is Odense. Near the picturesque village of Troense, don't miss the baroque Valdemars castle constructed by Christian IV. Nearby, find Egeskov castle, one of the most famous castles in Denmark, and also one of the best preserved of the Renaissance period.Customise this route and add it to My travel book
A modern, bronze fountain by Kai Nielsen stands on the main square and a belfry (15C) towers over the area. Half-timbered houses painted in vibrant colours line the cobbled streets, and modest artisans' houses stand next to elegant merchants' residences. Den Gamle Gård, an ancient residence now housing the Kulturhistoriske Museet or history museum, stands on Holkegade. Fåborg Museum for Fynsk Malerkunst, in Grønnegade, is a Museum of Fyn Art, famous for its paintings by local painters, such as Peter Hansen and Johannes Larsen.
An imposing Baroque castle located in a wooded area on the edge of a lake near Troense (a picturesque village). Built between 1639 and 1644 by Christian IV for his son Valdemar, the castle was later given to national hero Niels Juel, who renovated it in Baroque style at the end of the 17C. His descendants (still the owners) have opened part of the property to the public. The rooms, from the Great Hall to the servants' rooms, are furnished as if they were in use, thus recreating the atmosphere of an elegant residence.
Built in 1554 on an island in the middle of a lake alongside a forest, this Renaissance castle originally played a defensive role. Still occupied by the descendants of its builder, only parts are open to the public. Admire the Great Hall, restored in 1975, and the hunting trophies brought back from Africa by a previous owner. The lovely 18C grounds, redesigned in 1959, are perfect for a stroll. A 3 000m 2 museum houses a collection of old cars, planes, motorcycles and horse-drawn carriages.