Margaret Herrick Library : Michelin's recommendations
A slender, ornate tower and graceful arches evoking the Spanish Colonial Revival style top the former La Cienega Water Treatment Plant (1928); the structure housed a pump system that provided Beverly Hills with a water supply other than the Los Angeles Aqueduct. Abandoned in 1976, it was restored and reopened in 1991 by the Academy for Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.Today the building houses the Herrick Library, a research collection of more than 24,000 books, 6 million still photographs and 70,000 scripts; clipping files on 82,000 films and 73,000 film personalities; and more than 450 special collections of material relating to film industry individuals and organizations. The Academy Film Archive contains a comprehensive research collection devoted to early cinema works, Academy Award nominees and winners, and the personal film collections of Academy members and important filmmakers.
Opening hours :
- Mon, Thu-Fri 10am-6pm, Tue 10am-8pm