Haas-Lilienthal House : Michelin's recommendations
One of San Francisco's few Victorian-era residences open to the public, this imposing gray edifice (1886, Peter R. Schmidt) is among the last survivors of the many ornate single-family houses that once filled this eastern Pacific Heights neighborhood. It typifies the architectural aspirations of the city's upper-middle class at the end of the 19C. Constructed for William Haas, a prominent wholesaler, it passed to his daughter and son-in-law, Alice and Samuel Lilienthal, in 1916. After Alice's death in 1972, her family donated the house to the Foundation for San Francisco's Architectural Heritage, which currently maintains it as a house museum and headquarters.The exterior embellishments are typical of the Queen Anne style and include a variety of patterned siding, ornately bracketed gables and a deceptive corner tower with windows 10ft above the floor. The basement, which at times was used as a ballroom, now holds a display of photographs showing the house in its pre-1906 neighborhood context. Upper-floor rooms, including two parlors, a dining room and one of the original six bedrooms, are furnished in a range of decorative styles dating from the 1880s to the 1920s.
- Address : 2007 Franklin St., près de Washington St. USA - San Francisco, CA 9410994109San Francisco
- Phone : (415) 441-3000
- Website : http://www.sfheritage.org
- Prices : 8 $ (-12 years old 5 $)
Opening hours :
- Wed, Sat noon-3pm, Sun 11am-4pm