San Juan Island National Historical Park (park headquarters) : Michelin's recommendations
The 1,250-acre park preserves coastal swatches of the island associated with the 1859-72 occupation by English and American troops during the Pig War. The conflict was sparked in 1859, when an American farmer on the island, Lyman Cutlar, shot a pig rooting in his potato patch. Unfortunately, the pig belonged to British Hudson's Bay Company agents, and soon the pig shooting had escalated into an international incident. US infantry under Capt. George Pickett were dispatched to the island, as were three British warships. The US Army dug in along the Cattle Point Peninsula, as the British Navy faced them offshore. The standoff continued for two months, until Gen. Winfield Scott, commander of all US forces, arrived and negotiated a joint occupation agreement with the British. For the next dozen years, the two occupation forces remained, the Americans at the original camp along Cattle Point and the English at the northern end of the island. Finally, in October 1872, German Kaiser Wilhelm was asked to arbitrate in the conflict, and he declared in favor of the US, thus ending the conflict and placing the islands within America's domain.Outside the park boundary, at the east tip of Cattle Point, the Cattle Point Lighthouse continues to flash a warning to mariners. At quiet English Camp (off W. Valley Rd.) several clapboard buildings and a formal English garden still overlook protected Garrison Bay. In the Barracks, historical photographs are displayed. A trail leads .75mi uphill through the forest to English Camp Cemetery, where a few headstones mark the graves of men who died during (but not because of) the occupation. Beyond the cemetery, the trail loops to the summit of 650ft Young Hill, with views of the island and west toward Vancouver Island.
- Address : 650 Mullis St USA - Friday Harbor, WA 9825098250Friday Harbor
- Phone : (360) 378-2902
- Website : http://www.nps.gov/sajh/